If you’re sad and you don’t know it – try the “Happiness Project”

So I guess, i’m facing my computer again for the sheer want of updating my blog. And whenever I am faced with the questions of what to write, my thoughts and preconceived ideas eludes me. I quoted  one of the series I’m currently watching, the woman said ” I don’t know what’s with people these days, the serious need to understand their emotions?  Why are we obsessed by the way? To always validate what we feel and why we feel them? Is it because it leaves a hole that we want to fill? Or maybe to justify our existence?”  But I think people ages ago, never really bother that much.

 

And then here’s my personal question: Why is it that whenever you can’t sleep, you find channels you never knew existed? The mind never does rest?  I, for one, am guilty of this. A colleague of mine noticed my behaviour and told me I think too much! and I asked him back, ” How do you not think? ” and he replied, “its not something you can turn off or undo. It’s who you are.  You can consider it a gift or a curse, its up to you.” Case on point, like for example now, I have the urge to validate my feelings… and I drive myself crazy.

 

p6

On recent days, I have been reading the “Happiness Project” by Gretchen Rubin. This book gave me the idea to come up with a 12 commandments of my own.

12 commandments for my Happiness Project:

  1. To let go is to fear less and to love more.

  2. Trust always requires unanswered questions.

  3. Be the kind of person you want others to be.

  4. Grow, Glow & Go.

  5. If you dont have time- make time.

  6. Accept yourself.

  7. Remain with God. ( 1 Cor. 7:24)

  8. Less is more.

  9. There’s always a chance to create.

  10. Life is worth fighting for.

  11. Family is the beginning and end.

  12. True love waits.

p7

This is the summary of the virtues I’ve lived by throughout the years… It takes more than courage to define one’s self and draw the line between who you are and who you want to become. My life has been one hell of a rollercoaster ride and I take back nothing nor avenge the pain. There are no certainties – only adventures. So what if the road is long?? – I’ll walk more.  We’re women honey, strength finds us …..

Leave a Reply

