The other side of Osmeña Peak no one barely sees

osmena peak mantalongon dalaguete cebu

You understand why “climbing a mountain” is usually connoted to suffering yes? Mainly because it’s not easy. But boy do I feel the opposite every time I excursion to one.

I can’t deny I’m a promdi girl  (a girl from a province). My highschool  means trekking on the nearest hilltop to hangout with friends. It became a usual routine. So going south to Mantalongon, Dalaguete should be easy-piecey. I did have high hopes considering the blogs I’ve read to research and prep for this impromptu adventure. Because on a lowly thursday afternoon, my friend and I decided we’ll do some trekking come saturday. That we did! Almost all my cebuano friends cannot call someone a native if you have not reached the top of Osmeña Peak. It was priceless. The weather was perfect, the ride smooth and the rest history. Though when you search for other blogs featuring this mountain they would only succumb to the mountains adjacent to the island of Negros. But I have come to realize that if you take a look at the other side, you would be equally amazed with the view.

Without further ado, we started our hike at around 8ish in the morning. Osmeña Peak, which sits 1,013 meters above sea level holds to be the highest peak in all of Cebu.

DSC_0001DSC_0002DSC_0003DSC_0008DSC_0007

 

As much of a leftist as I am, I took the road less traveled. Or in this case, the mountain top less climb. Most of the climbers just wanted to get to the mostly coveted “top” which is this view:

DSC_0021DSC_0034DSC_0019

They just wanted a selfie aaaand there’s nothing wrong with that. But I reckoned it’s not enough. I needed the challenge, something that would make it worth the early morning rise.

We headed to the opposite mountain because I was determined to reach the top. The one with a flag mounted on it. At first we got lost in tracks oh and one more thing, did I tell you I’m acrophobic? Yes I have a fear of heights and geez I had nightmares just thinking about the flashback of the cliff edge and slopes we had to go through just to get on top and yada, yada, yada…I’m still alive to tell you this tale. And here is the view worth dying for..

DSC_0069

DSC_0048

DSC_0047

2016-06-04

I think its the flag of Malaysia.

2016-06-04 (3)

Of course I had to show you the expectation vs. reality, behind-the-scene shots because I nearly fainted but I had to pose like nothing bothers. (insert smiling-crying emoji)

DSC_0058

DSC_0060DSC_0062

What you don’t see is the thousand meter cliff on the other side of the rock that I’m leaning and believe me it.is.a.big.deal.

DSC_0066DSC_0052

I cannot tell you enough how amazing it is to stand upon a rock and tell yourself you are going to be okay. Because if these mountains have thrived despite climate change and exploits then so can you. so can I.

So then here’s How you can  get to Osmena Peak:

1.Ride a bus from South Bus terminal going to Bato-Oslob

Bus Fare: P 105.00

Estimated time from the city to dalaguete: 2 hours without traffic. We went to the terminal at 4:30, got on the bus at 5 and arrived at the destination at 7:00. On point!
2. Ask the conductor that you be dropped off in the intersections of Dalaguete going to Mantalongon. If you tell them that you’re going to Osmena Peak then they will understand.

3. If you already have the necessary water, some trail mix food and shade protection then you can ride a motorcycle from the junction going to the feet of the mountains located in the municipality of Mantalongon.

Motor Fare: 100/person (for one-way) the minimum persons for a motorcycle ride is 3.

4. The locals are friendly and the drivers are more than willing to wait for you to get back from the trek and take you back. Going to the foot of the mountain you will pass by some cabbage and vegetable farms and the wet market. It takes about 20-30 minutes to get there.

5. You will pay an entrance fee of P30.00 before you can jumpstart your trek.

 

Unwittingly, our motor drivers served as our tour guide as well. He didn’t shy away from telling us about the history of the place and the common stories too. We learned a thing or two from him and it sure did made the ride fun and upbeat. I have decided to explore my native land as explicitly as I can, as much as possible. And I’m not disappointed because the first persons who should appreciate it is us.

Leave a Reply

